Navigating the Zoom Interface
Once you launch a meeting through the app or through DotED, the Zoom meeting window will be displayed. A menu bar containing participant tools appears at the bottom of the Zoom meeting. This menu bar will appear and disappear as you roll your mouse over the area. If a meeting is being recorded, an icon will appear at the top of the window.
Below is a breakdown of what each icon does, with the numbers on the image corresponding to the listed descriptions.
- The Microphone Icon
Toggling this icon will mute and unmute your microphone.
- Adjust Audio Options Arrow
Clicking the up arrow next to the microphone will present you with more audio options. The first option is to Test Speakers & Microphone and the second option, Audio Settings…, will allow you to toggle through which audio devices you would like to use, test the equipment, as well as a few other settings.
- The Camera Icon
Toggling the Camera icon will activate and deactivate your webcam.
- Adjust Video Option Arrow
Clicking the up arrow next to the microphone will present you with more audio options. The first option is which camera you would like to activate. If you only have one camera, this will be the only camera you can select. The second option is Video Settings… which will give you more options to choose from, such as if you would like to always enter a meeting with the camera on or off.
By clicking the Invite icon in the Zoom call interface, you will be presented with more ways to include others
in your call.
- Manage Participants
This is very important. When you click this icon, you will be given the functionality to manage the participants
in your call in numerous ways. This is where you will go when you when you need to mute participants, unmute participants, and much more. We encourage instructors to really familiarize themselves with the participant management process as much
The Share function is also extremely important. This is how you will share you screen with your students, which will
allow you to go over slide decks and presentations, share images, videos, or websites, and do annotations. When you click the Share icon, you will be presented with a list of screens from your computer that you can then share. In addition, you
have some advanced settings here, which you allow you to control who is able to share their screen as well.
The Chat allows you to quickly chat with your participants. You have the option to chat 1-on-1, to the whole group,
or to specific groups.
When you click the Record icon, the meeting will begin saving a screen recording of the meeting. Once the recording is activated, you can pause the recording or stop the recording.Prior to recording your meetings, you will need to go
into your preference settings on the Zoom website to select a destination for the recording. We recommend using the cloud (non-local) storage attached to your zoom account. This must be setup by the admin.For more information about recording,
visit this page
- Breakout Rooms (Optional)
When you click the Breakout Rooms icon, you will be allowed to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions. The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, and can
switch between sessions at any time.
- End Meeting
This how you end the meeting. Once you clicl End Meeting, you will be prompted with a couple of options. You can simply leave the meeting or end the
meeting for all. Also, if you’ve been recording the meeting, the recording location will pop up.
- Full Screen
Clicking this icon will make the Zoom screen fill up your entire screen.